Sunday, July 6, 2008

Ellen Glasgow

Ellen Glasgow (1873-1945)

Ellen Glasgow (1873-1945)

Ellen Anderson Gholson Glasgow (April 22, 1873 - November 21, 1945) was an American novelist. Born in Richmond, Virginia, she published her first novel, The Descendant, in 1897, when she was 24 years old. With this novel, Glasgow began a literary career encompassing four and a half decades that comprised 20 novels, a collection of poems, short stories, and a book of literary criticism. Her final novel, In This Our Life, received the Pulitzer Prize for the Novel in 1942. Her autobiography, A Woman Within, appeared posthumously in 1954.

[A Point In Morals | Life And Gabriella | One Man In His Time | The Battle Ground | The Deliverance A Romance Of The Virginia Tobacco Fields | The Freeman | The Miller Of Old Church | The Past | The Romance Of A Plain Man | The Shadowy Third | The Voice Of The People | Virginia]

No comments:

Post a Comment